Home > Uncategorized > Word on the Tweet

Word on the Tweet

Having 160 characters to express yourself is just not my style. I have never understood the purpose of Twitter. Maybe it’s because I’m too wordy and have never even accepted the Facebook status, but I just don’t care where people are and what they’re doing at every moment. That being said, it was surprising that Twitter led to one of my favorite nights at Vanderbilt thus far.

I was sitting in the Gillette lobby working on homework with friends one night last October. That weekend, my friend Madeline and I were going to an Avett Brother’s concert, and we were way too excited. Honestly, it’s the only thing we talked about at the time. We suspected they were already in Nashville since their concert was coming up, so we decided to try to figure out where exactly in Nashville they would be. After Facebook stalking, and having no luck, Twitter came up. We went to their Twitter page without any clues on their whereabouts. And while I do love the actually brothers of the band, Scott and Seth, there is another person who tours with them that I really appreciate- Joe Kwon. He is lesser known, and not technically a part of the band, but he is the cellist who tours and plays with them that I absolutely adore. I then found his Twitter page that said, “Jakob Dylan about to hit the stage. Exciting. Belly full of good Indian food and coffee. I’m ready.” Luckily for me, Joe can see the beauty of constantly updating people on his where he is.

We looked up where in Nashville Jakob Dylan was playing, and were pleased to find that it was at the Exit Inn. Madeline and I then, for some reason suddenly rushed for time, put away our stuff, didn’t change out of our extremely casual outfits, and rushed over there.  We started running at first, but then we luckily saw a Vandy Van! We hopped on, and got off at the closest exit. We then hurried over. In our haste, I hadn’t even thought to get an ID, and at an 18 and up concert. Luckily, Madeline had hers, so she quickly paid and went inside as I waited right inside the front door. She would constantly update me as she circled the venue, and my phone was slowly dying. It’s at a time like this when technology is extremely frustrating. Eventually, with minimal battery left, I got a text that said, “I see a well dressed Asian with long hair! Score!” It was only a matter of time before I saw the two of them walking over to me, and we all got a picture together on Madeline’s cell phone. It’s a time like that when technology is extremely beneficial.Technology has its ups and downs. I was aggravated as my phone was dying and the complexities of cyberspace often create unnecessary problems. But the pros generally outweigh the cons. We got to talk to one of our favorite musicians, got there quickly and even got a picture with him thanks to the benefits of technology. It is somewhat creepy to me how much we can quickly learn about each other through the Internet. But what is sometimes creepy and too invasive can also be my key to meeting an acclaimed musician.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. February 2, 2011 at 10:08 am

    do you think we ignore the “creepy and too invasive” aspects of something like Twitter because it ends up being cool and useful as well? Sort of reminds me of our discussion of Pandora-like software tools (ones that decide what you like based on various algorithms)–it seems like if you make the service cool enough, then who cares if it’s creepy and invasive! Perhaps that’s why I strive for a studied lack of coolness.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

