Home > Uncategorized > In CyberLand’s Name We Pray, Amen.

In CyberLand’s Name We Pray, Amen.

Never did I think I would be revisited by memories of my Catholic upbringing in a writing seminar…on technology.  Much to my surprise, upon viewing and analyzing the blockbuster hit The Matrix, The Social Network trailer, and beginning the reading of The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch, these texts have me experiencing flashbacks to days of falling asleep in the pew of San Francisco Solano Church and suffering through religious education on Tuesday nights.  In fact, when I went in to pick up my copy of The Three Stigmata from Borders, I initially had some trouble locating it in the science fiction section.  When I asked for assistance, the clerk then suggested I check the religion section of the store (I guess this proves what a well-versed Catholic I am, because, embarrassingly enough, I definitely did not know what “The Three Stigmata” alluded to).
            So how do these two seemingly separate realms fuse so naturally in fiction?  While not entirely obvious at first glance, the worlds of religion and cyberspace share vast common ground.  Both are intangible and – please don’t mind my blasphemy – artificial.  They are powerfully imagined spaces, capable of becoming one’s actual reality (or, perhaps, one’s preferred reality).  Furthermore, humans worship these spheres: as disturbing as it may sound, we are slaves to technology and the possibilities of cyberspace (think The Matrix’s Cypher desperately wanting to enter the matrix at the expense of his team, or Mark Zuckerberg’s obsession with creating the “coolest” Facebook, also at the expense of his only friend) just as many are humble servants to their God.  Cyberspace and world of religion are regarded by humans as bigger than them; they are nearly unimaginable because the possibilities in both states are unlimited.

The technological advances in modern day society, and our gradual entrance into “the digital age,” have created a rather interesting and surprisingly reflective relationship with the long established realm of religion.  Let’s just pray that they remain distinguishable.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

